A 96 year old Tradition

The Panama Championship has been celebrated in the ISTHMUS since 1927. It was inaugurated at our old course  known as Las Sabanas, a family owned piece of land which was leased to Club de Golf de Panamá from 1918 -1931.  In 1952 our Board of Governors decided to elevate the game and joined forces with the PGA Tour making it part of the Caribbean Circuit. 

Welcome Korn Ferry players

Club de Golf de Panamá

All great players start here. 



72 years ago CGP Board of Governors assigned Leo "Dick "Dehlinger  as Chariman of the Panama Championship.  Panama was considered then  an important stop in the Caribbean Tour Circuit. The event was played on our Old Course located in the city center. Dick retired from being Chairman in 1974 when Club de Golf de Panamá moved its new course  to the east, a special place our  members proudly call "CERRO".



Plenty memorable moments were documented during the Carribean circuit at the Old Course. Click on the link and relive the 1956 open as Arnie beats Snead in six hole playoff

1979 - 1984


Club de Golf de Panamá finished its new course in 1977 and activated once again the Panama Championship.  Chichi Rodriguez, Butch Baird, Bruce Fleisher and Curtis Strange were amongst the winners during the five-year span.



20 years later the Panama Championship was reactivated thanks to the efforts of Mr. Francisco Arias, Antonio de Roux and Roberto Duran Sr.  Establishing once again a tradition we truly cherish. Last year the Championship was renovated until 2026

Shell´s Wonderful World of Golf at Old Course